Thank Goodness Time Marches On…

I am so very happy today is here. The day after Election Day. Now that is a day to be celebrated. Not the outcome necessarily, for some, I suppose so. But I mean it was time for this whole debacle to be done. I won’t tell you who got my vote, it doesn’t matter at this point. What matters is that we start the healing process. This election has turned friends against each other, husbands and wives are at odds, strangers have tried dragging us into discussions and then get angry because we didn’t agree with their point of view. We are supposed to be a nation of tolerance, we are supposed to be able to believe in what we want to believe in. Yes, you are allowed to believe what you choose too, but you are not allowed to bully me to believe it too.

I heard so many people say they weren’t voting because of the mess, and I think I heard about as many say they were voting because of the mess. “I’m voting to cancel out so and so’s vote” (husband, friend or foe) I also heard the story of people not voting for who they wanted because someone explained to them that it would be a wasted vote. I have news for you, if you voted for someone other than your own choice, it was a wasted vote anyway. Own your choice, it may or may not be the right one, but there’s no guarantee that the person you’re listening to is right either. Own your choices, not just in an election but in life as well.

I don’t think any of us could have predicted which way this would go. Good, bad or indifferent, let’s move on and try to never again allow such a mess of our election process. Deal?

4 thoughts on “Thank Goodness Time Marches On…

  1. Very well said. I think the people have more power than they realize. We have sometimes been buffaloed by the media into believing that everything they tell us is true. I am also glad it is over. I was tired of the phone calls, tired of media spin and just tired of hearing all the crap from both sides.
    Yup, let’s take a deep breath and treat each other like real people with real feelings, with honesty and integrity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes agree. Well said and thank you for blogging about this. It really is time for the country to move on, but now we have the protest, and even vandalism. Change can happen when we look at ourselves first. This is a good time for many to reflect and see how they can influence the power of voting by getting directly involved. I’m curious what the end result is they hope to achieve.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

