An Egg-citing Tip

Have you ever had a kidney stone? Ahh, I heard those groans. Yeah, well I had one and have been fighting through it for a couple of weeks. That’s why there was a lapse in posts. I’m sorry, I actually tried a couple of times, but when I went back and re-read those posts, they were just big ol’ gripe fests. None of us needed that. I’m better now. I guess my stone passed and with any luck it’ll be the one and only in my life. I’m back and I have a terrific tip for you.

So the other day we were tearing down our old porch and putting up a new deck on the back of the house. Nothing like deciding to move to get all the things done that you’ve been planning to do to your home. I went in the house to make egg salad sandwiches for lunch and as I prepared to boil the eggs it dawned on me that I have a great trick for pealing hard-boiled eggs that you might like to know. Now, I had seen this a few times before I tried it myself. So I thought maybe you are wondering the same thing or maybe you haven’t even seen this particular ‘hack’ yet.

When you peal hard-boiled eggs doesn’t it drive you batty when you lose half your egg? Deviled eggs don’t look very pretty when half the white is gone because you couldn’t separate it from the shell. So, I tried this trick and I’ll be darned if it didn’t work, like a charm, nearly every time. Enough of the time that I keep a pint canning jar and lid on my kitchen window sill just for this purpose. OK, so here’s what you need…

A glass jar w/lid. I think a pint jar is best although a quart will work.image

TaDa! That’s it! Well besides your hard-boiled eggs.

After your eggs have cooled sufficiently, put one egg in your jar with about 3/4 of an inch of water. Do one egg at a time. Put your lid on the jar and shake it. Top to bottom, side to side. Shake it hard enough to break the shell of the egg but not so much that you scramble your hard-boiled egg. I usually have to sing ” shake, shake, shake…shake your booty” while doing this.

Look at your jarred egg. Usually, the egg and the shell are completely separate at this point. If not, normally when you open the jar and dump your egg out into your hand the shell comes off and all you have to do is rinse the egg. Then move on to the next egg.image

Seriously, it’s that easy. And it works almost every time. We use farm fresh eggs and you probably know that fresh eggs don’t peal as easily as eggs that are a little older. This method still works most of the time.

I love it, and it works well enough that I don’t get frustrated with the occasional egg-zasperating hardcore bad egg that just doesn’t want to be peeled easily. Sorry, I had to do it.

Try it out, let me know what you think.

8 thoughts on “An Egg-citing Tip

  1. I am going to have to try this!!! I never make deviled eggs because my eggs are farm fresh and they just looked mangled by the time I had the shells off. I will definitely let you know how it goes the next time I make boiled eggs…..which I may have to do soon just to try this trick!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

