I Paint Houses

My sister-in-law, Lori is mentally challenged. She likes to be called “handy capable”. My in-laws and Lori were in a car accident when she was a baby and the results were devastating. She wasn’t “supposed” to live to be six months old, or 3 years or an adult. She’s 54 years old now, so I guess she is pretty “handy capable”.  She has had the same boyfriend for many years, she doesn’t see him anymore, he’s older than her (age wise, mentally they are about the same) and he has some health problems, as does she, that keep them from getting together. But make no mistake, he is still her boyfriend. Now that’s loyalty.

Years ago I was asking her about Morris and what sort of things he liked to do. I hadn’t met him yet and wondered about him. She told me that he liked to paint. “Oh how nice” I said. I asked her what kind of pictures he painted. She told me he painted houses. Well, Grandma Moses was 78 when she started so no reason a ‘handy capable’ man in his 60’s couldn’t do it, right? We kept up the conversation and I asked her if he was going to paint her a picture soon? She just looked at me. I said, “well, don’t you want one of his paintings on your wall”? She told me I was crazy, but I really didn’t understand why and I asked her why she wouldn’t want one of his paintings. (Read this next part with as much exasperation as you can muster) “shannon, I can’t hang one on my wall…he paints houses!” His job was a house painter! Yep, I really am that slow!

Sooooo anyway, we are sprucing up our house and needed to paint the exterior. We’ve been trying to get it done all summer but it’s been pretty windy here and we needed to spray the ceiling of the deck. We tried rolling it on, but it just soaked it up so fast we decided to spray it. Saving our necks was an added benefit. If you’ve ever painted a ceiling you know what I’m saying. The wind has been an everyday thing here this summer. I swear all we had to do was say the word paint and a gust would rise up out of nowhere! Finally one weekend, no wind. Yea! We got that ceiling painted. Nothing was sacred we were getting it done come Hell or high water. Even the apples got a light dusting. Well they shoulda moved, we were on a mission!

image

We have a pretty big, 2700 square foot house that The Bob built. His Mother was no longer able to live alone and neither of our houses was conducive to all of us living together in one or the other. So he built this one. As I told you in an earlier post “The Beginning”, we designed it and painted it out on our driveway of our old house. Yes, I’m very proud of him and this house.

Bob is an installer for an awning company so he is up and down ladders all the time. He may also be part monkey, the way he climbs. So he climbed up and sprayed the 2nd story. I got to roll the first floor color on. Now, I love to paint, The Bobber not so much, so I was a painting fool. He had his fun with the sprayer so I made him do the cutting in around the ceiling of the deck so I could have my fun 🎶rollin’, rollin’, rollin’ on the yellow. 🎶 Ok, sorry, I’m no Tina Turner, I’m back now, just had a little moment.

image

I was shocked at how much the color had faded over the years. When we first built the house, and began looking for a color, I was kind of looking for something to blend in with the landscape a bit. Normally I’m a color gal, I don’t need to blend in, but we built this house in the place of Bob’s folks house, where he grew up. I was trying to take into consideration all of the things that go with that. His Mom’s preference, his choices, the landscape. The old house was green and white, and we looked at some greens. We even brought home some samples. We both hated them so much, we quickly painted over them so his Mom didn’t see them. We are evil. Actually, we are self preservationists, we both really disliked the green and didn’t want to take any chances. Ok, we’re a little evil.

Bob came home one day  and said he found the perfect color combination.  Yellow and maroon. Now I was pretty skeptical but we went and looked at the house  where he had seen these colors together, and it looked really good, so that’s the colors we went with, yellow and maroon and actually I love it. imageYou see I had been watching the colors of the houses along the way to our house. There were 17 houses that were beige  and about 10 that were gray. I’m a bit of a non-conformist and I didn’t want our house to look like everyone else’s so bright yellow and maroon it was. Now there are three other houses along the road that are yellow and my neighbor says she looks out her window and sees our bright yellow house and thinks of a ray of sunshine that makes me happy. We actually get a lot of compliments on the color and it’s easy to give directions, “just look for the big yellow house”. image

Yep, that’s my monkey…I mean hubby!

So, the house is painted. Next comes the trim and the deck railing. Whew, it’s a lot of work getting ready to retire. Time keeps moving forward and we’re trying to do the same. I just keep thinking, one step closer to the beach! image

 

One thought on “I Paint Houses

  1. I love the color on your house! My sister’s house is yellow and is DOES make you smile. I have a cousin who is in her 60’s and is handy capable. She may not mentally be the age she is physically but she never, ever misses a birthday of even extended family. How she remembers I do not know, but we all get birthday cards.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

